Restaurant & Bar Reviews

Here is where you will find my latest thoughts on restaurants I visit and/or that I think are worthy of mentioning whether it be for good or bad reasons. Basically my philosophy is this, good food is good food. I don’t care if your just a no frills establishment or a top class restaurant.

Rating scale: ♥♥♥♥♥ = best,  ♥=worst.

Until I can figure out a better way of structuring this BLOG I will do this by country, city then alphabetical order.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

DENMARK


Copenhagen

.

.

Pizzeria La Fiorita

Pizzeria La Fiorita Maj 2010

L Fiorita is an Italian run pizzeria frequented by Italian’s in Copenhagen. They serve traditional Italian pizza and a small selection of pastas to eat there at the counter or to take with you.

The Man, though impressed, thought the pizza sauce was not quite sweet enough for his taste. Which is fair we are all accustomed to what we grow up with, in his case Swedish pizza. For the rest of us it was just right. The tomato sauce in my opinion was perfection, rich with subtle flavors! As I lustily devoured my slices I had fantasies of being specially selected to learn and guard the  La Fiorita pizza sauce recipe.

What people might be expecting now is a gourmet extravaganza which would be incorrect. La Fiorita serves a number of down home pizzas. They are not gourmet or unusual in any way more than that they are simple pizza’s that are utterly delicious.

FOOD ♥♥♥♥♥

SERVICE ♥♥♥♥ They are a little cocky in a playful way. But, you can tell the owner loves to see people enjoy his food.

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥♥-there are a few bar stools at the counter, otherwise it’s take away.

PRICE Food ♥♥♥♥♥ Drinks ♥♥♥♥

Location

Ahlefeldtsgade 28

Norreport, Copenhagen

5 m walk from Norreport Station on the Charlotte Amundsens Plads across from Bank (e) Råt.

.

.

.

Cafe Sommarsko

Cafe Sommarsko, Kronprinsensgade 6 CPH

After a lovely party and over night at Trephene’s, she dropped us off at the train station. As we were heading to the platform The Man did a Max’s Mom works at Polern och Pyret. This means every time we are here you say the exact same thing, which was there is a really nice grocery store next to Tivoli. Thus, I said okay let’s go see this store. Only problem was they were closed for renovation. Not to give up we headed to one of Irma’s other locations. Off into town we walked. Said walk and tour of Irma left us peckish. So we went to one of my favorites, Cafe Sommarsko.

Cafe Sommarsko is just off Ströget, the high street. While Ströget is a touch touristy and I would normally recommend getting of the beaten path, there are a few gems tucked away. Sommarsko is one of mine. My intial attraction to this Cafe, or diner I would say, was all about the cozy atmosphere. Turns out their food is pretty good too.

The past week I have been hankering for raw meat and sashimi so I ordered the Steak Tatar and The Man ordered the Chicken Cesar upon my recommendation. It has been a few years ago since I have eaten there, I remembered the Cesar Salad being rather good despite not being entirely authentic. There has been nothing, but improvement. The Cesar is now the real deal, giving me a bit of solace. The steak tartar was exactly what I needed. Being I am rather sensitive to raw onion I was pleasantly surprised. There was just the right ratio of onions and capers. The mustard, pesto sauce dotting my plate was also much appreciated and complimented the tatar perfectly.

So all in all we left very happy as our plates reveal. While there is a plethora of better places in CPH, I can warmly recommend Sommarsko as a casual lunch spot.

hat’s left of the cesar!
Steak Tartar never mind the dill.

.

.

FOOD ♥♥♥♥-this is the perfect place for an afternoon lunch.

SERVICE ♥♥♥ the waitresses seemed rather stressed, so I would say they were under staffed. However, she did ask about our meal which is an unusual occurence in Scandinavia.

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥♥-I really like the interior. It has a French/New York feel to it.

PRICE Food ♥♥♥ Drinks ♥♥♥

LOCATION
Kronprinsensgade 6
Copenhagen
WEBPAGE

Tel: +45 33 93 99 60

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

SWEDEN

.

.

MALMÖ

.

.

Anytime February 2010

Last Friday we headed to Anytime for our favorite fish, a crispy skinned, European perch served with a potato and mushroom compote and a creamy basil sauce.

Anytime’s menu covers a wide range of dishes with an equally diverse pricing scale. The menu seems first to be divided by price, down scale pricing and somewhat up scale pricing. Then the menu is further divided into a couple of more categories, an impressive pizza menu, a pasta menu and then the French Bistro menu with quality meats and fish. In most cases this translates into a restaurant not being particularly adept at anything on their menu. This is not the case here. While I am not inclined to recommend their pasta, Anytime is very skilled with managing their menu and keeping an even quality.

My personal recommendation is the fish. The Angler they had on last year’s menu was to die for. This year I warmly recommend the Perch. If you are in the mood for something light then definitely go for the tuna carpaccio, they’ll double the serving if you ask.

It’s a small little spot with a simple decor and a cozy atmosphere.

FOOD ♥♥♥♥

SERVICE ♥♥♥ they have the typical American cheer, but it isn’t enough to excuse the menu.

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥♥-it’s clean and fresh if not a little noisy.

PRICE Food ♥♥♥♥ Drinks ♥♥♥

Location

Föreningsgatan 37

211 52 Malmö

040 – 12 99 12

http://www.anytime.se/

.

.

.

Restaurang Asian July 2010

Better be careful what I say here! No need to start a family feud. It just so happens The Man’s brother’s girlfriend is niece to the owner etc. etc.

In all honesty though I have nothing, but great things to say about Restaurang Asian’s phở! I have eaten a wide range of their dishes, but every time I have phở I wonder why I ever order anything else. Phở is a Vietnamese rice noodle soup with a clear broth. It is also Restaurang Asian’s specialty and with good reason. It’s delicious. This time around I order the seafood soup, it wasn’t labeled a pho on the menu, but it was in principle the same type of soup. While it was as spicy as the menu said it would be, it had the most amazing flavor. It was well worth the sweat and the 2 large glasses of lemonade. I can’t help, but wonder how you get a clear broth to carry such complex flavors.

The soups are all served with a plate of fresh herbs, sprouts and a pair of scissors. I really like the interactive element this provides. It gives you control over what herbs and how many will compliment your soup. Especially since I am die hard hater of Thai basil.

The remainder of the menu is also good, but won’t knock your socks off. However, I think the prices do a very god job of reflecting what kind of food you will get. When I am not having the  soup I generally order the fried rice with shrimps, a particular take away favorite. In fact al of the shrimp dishes I have tried have been good. But, as I said nothing goes up against their Phở.

And a little insider tip! The fresh spring rolls were originally served with fish sauce, but the name scared people off so now it is served with a Hoisin. Ask for the fish sauce, it is NOT fishy in the remotest and very nice with the fresh spring rolls.

FOOD ♥♥♥ The Phở gets ♥♥♥♥

SERVICE ♥♥♥

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥ It’s been recently re-decorated and has a new fresh feeling. Lovely bathroom BTW

PRICE ♥♥♥♥

Location

Möllevången

Ystadsgatan 17

214 24 Malmö

Tel. +46 (0)40 92 94 37

.

.

.

.

BASTARD

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Bastard

Februari 2011

Now I am going to update my thoughts about the food at Bastard. AMAZING!  Uponour first visit I was nonplussed by the food. But, was in love with the service and atmosphere which is the key element to whether or not I will give a restaurant a second chance. If your food is so so and your service so so or less I won’t be back by my volition. Simple. So, good job Bastard for getting back through your doors. I thank you because boy was I ever wrong about the food.

The Man ordered the Ox heart as recommended by his colleague. It was amazing with soft, melt in your mouth strips of strewn over slices of beets and a delicately tangy horseradish parfait. YUM!  I ordered the calv tongue with a sardine, olive, mint sprinkle piled carefully on a sinful mound of mashed potatoes. While the taste buds initially gave me pause the taste knocked all apprehension out of my mind completely. This tongue now reigns high on my list of best meat experiences. The dish is  delicate in texture and flavor with just the right amount of salty contrast in the sardine olive topping.

My final conclusion is I don’t know which I liked best the heart or the tongue. Both were gorgeous and different enough that I just have to say both are liked best.

I did get a bit of a taste of the cabbage soup that accompanied the chicken stuffed with sweatbread and bacon. It was also note worthy, but didn’t have the wow factor  of our two dishes. The fish well it didn’t get high marks from it’s eater. Again as mentioned below the fish seems to lack that extra element it needs to come into the running. My suggestion to Bastard is to work on their fish accompaniments.  Top the fish off with something wow.

And what is even better when looking at the overall price picture it’s competitive. No where else can you get this quality at just under or over 200 sek. The conclusion…I have a new favorite spot!

September 2010

People kept asking me if I had yet to Bastard, Malmö’s new name in town that began by specializing in the odds and ends of the animal, trotters, cheeks, livers, kidney’s… While I was curious I have stayed clear of the odds and ends for the most part. I have tried chicken feet the once, utter waste of skin and bones. I have unwittingly eaten a spoon fish and then spit it out. I am not sure if you can eat an odd or an end of a spoon fish, but… Sea urchin done not doing that again. Liver at Broman’s tasty. But, I have this theory. Eating a filtering organ just shouldn’t be good for you, I mean it  cleans the funk out of blood. Yes, I know you treat the odd or the end in a certain way to pull all the ick out, but still.

Also in my snobby little way I can’t help but notice that using all parts of the animal is now IN STYLE. Just another fad flying through the culinary world like ruccola in the 90’s. So, it took me until Thursday past and a few recommendations to get me on the premises.

First off I love the location. Stepping through the door was like stepping into Northern California, San Fransico or Sacramento. Gold Rush and eclectic. Then came the service, impeccable. If you’re wondering what it is we American’s are always longing for and complaining about, go to Bastard. This is the service we tip for. And now the food. It all sounded and looked really good, even the venison liver. But, the odds and ends of the liver didn’t really seem exotic enough to break my rule, so I made a huge mistake. I ordered the fish. I should know better, you don’t order chicken in a steak house you order the steak. The toasted hazzle nuts and the salted beets were gorgeous, but the fish. Not at all. It was completely tasteless white fish. What it needed was a small drizzle of something extra to give that very needed final touch. Something a bit salty and contrasting in flavor to the beets.

Our foody friend Christian was also a bit non-plussed by his duck. It was too dry. But the potato salad was much loved. Just to rub it in our face The Man was practically jumping up and down and clapping his hands. He loved his pork and yellow lentils. Of the three of us he definitely made the more interesting choice. I had a couple mouthfuls and couldn’t help, but notice while it was good it did remind of the way “American” firecrackers smell when they are burned out.

Okay don’t even try and say, how do you know what I firecracker tastes like have you eaten one? NO I HAVE NOT. Nor have I eaten from a cat box. Doesn’t stop me from thinking those hard, black Swedish candy favorites covered in brown ammonia dusts taste like what a cat box would taste like. Look if you can smell something and say mmm that smells good is there rosemary in that stew. Then you can sure as heck taste something and tell a person which smell the taste reminds you of. OKAY!

Conclusion. I will be going back again without a doubt. I loved the place, I loved the service even more! Next time though I am going to go for their speciality an odd or an end, preferably the one that will grow the most hair on my chest. And if that fails I will just stick to their very lovely drinks. In particular the Italian white, the best white I have had in Sweden.

20

FOOD ♥♥ with potential, The Man says ♥♥♥♥

SERVICE ♥♥♥♥♥ Service as it should be!

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥♥♥

PRICE Food ♥♥♥♥ Drinks ♥♥♥♥

Location

Mäster Johansgatan 11
211 21 MALMÖ, Sweden
040-12 13 18

http://www.bastardrestaurant.se

.

.

.

.

Chill Out-Sushi November 2009

This is by far one of my favorite sushi joints. They do a very tasty Japanese Hawaiian fusion sushi of a quality not fond anywhere else in Sweden or many other places for that matter. I suggest you call ahead to make sure Carsten is behind the knife. It just isn’t the same without him and his sense of  good service and seriousness about sushi. They don’t have a liquor license thanks to the obscure Swedish laws, but you can get a “lätt” beer.

FOOD ♥♥

SERVICE unless it’s Carsten then it’s a 5.

ATMOSPHERE

PRICE

http://www.chillout-malmo.se/

.

Doc Italiano-October 2011

With an evening of shopping for our little Halloween party ahead we decided on a quick meal out. Confusion as usual ensued. The Man has this amazing ability I wish I possesed, being able to remove nearly everything from his memory. For The Man this means, if I don’t clutter my mind with random information I won’t be irritated, bogged down or any thing in that realm. For me, this means frusteration because,  he never knows what I am talking about which leaves me going into deep detailed descriptions that lead him no closer to the destination or any thing else. This is what happened on Friday night right after the bus only lanes and no left turns, led me 10 blocks out of the way. With that I gave up on the so, so place that was just around the corner and headed for Docplatsen.

Docplatsen is a small square, well really it’s a parking lot, that is skirted by a number of trendy, and almost never open when I pass by there, restaurants. They are all well styled which keeps bringing me back hoping I may for once arrive during opening hours. On this Friday we were in luck. We passed by each one, pushing our noses against the window hoping that we would choose a worthy spot. In the end we settled for Doc Italiano. The least assuming of the restaurants.

We pushed through the door that felt a little off sides adorned with a shiny new White Guide sticker which was promising. The pile of junk piled in the corner however presented a feeling of disarray that would lead one to think this may be a bad idea White Guide or no White Guide sticker. The fact that the service was slow and confused enough to prompt me to get up and leave didn’t help. I was hungry, grumpy hungry, and ready to go for the kill. Luckily, The Man wasn’t grumpy hungry and talked me into waiting just a few more minutes. And am I glad I didn’t huff out of the place.

The service is slowly disjointed and the decore is marred by piles of crap laying where it shouldn’t, but the pasta is amazing. AMAZING! The menu is very simple consisting of a choice between a 3 or 5 dish taster menu or a small a la carte menu comprised of 2-3 starters, 3 main courses and dessert.

While I was eyeing the duck we both decided to keep it simple ordering the mushroom taggliatelle. The dish was simple, clean and delicious in a way I haven’t experienced in a long while. Probably the best pasta I have had in… in I can’t remember when. Initially we were suspicious of the mushrooms. They didn’t have the browned texture one often expects. They looked well, a bit soggy. Wow is what we were though once we got those bad boys on the fork and into our mouths. This was a three man ensemble with the Forest Champignon, Winter Chantarelles and my newest love King Oyster Mushrooms. The King Oyster Mushroom was nothing less than mouth watering medallions of flavor: nutty, savory yet delicate, just plain lovely. So please tell me where I can get my hands on them in Sweden. PLEASE!!!!!

The pasta was perfect with cracked pepper, and a slightly creamy coating hosting yet again a delicate mushroom flavor. No need for extra parmesan the whole of this dish was perfectly balanced.

And now my fear is that I wil never get to experience it again, as Doc italiano changes its menu regularly using seasonal ingredients, and I have no idea as to where to start in replicating this lovely dish. I guess I will just have to become a die hard regular so that I can gently suggest I have my own personal menu consisting of… Mushroom taggliatelle.

FOOD ♥♥♥♥- the menu is simple and so far I think above my expectations.

SERVICE ♥♥♥ The thing is the service was slow and disorganzed, yet friendly. Considering the only other guests was a table of four I am more than a little worried about what would happen if the place was full.

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥-It is pretty average. I don’t understand the piles of random objects or the office books shoved into the display case.

PRICE Food ♥♥♥♥♥ Drinks ♥♥♥♥ The prices were a pleasant surprise. Our pasta dish was at a reasonable 135 sek.

http://www.docitaliano.se/

Lunch
Mån – fre

11.30 – 13.30

Kvällstid
Mån – lör | från 18.00
Sön | stängt

Bordsreservation
tel:             040-611 12 30

.

.

.

.

Epicuré Due April 2010

We both went for wild and crazy and ordered a couple of pasta dishes that we weren’t sure we would like. The Man ordered a sardine pasta and I ordered the Frutti de Mare pasta. I was very pleased with both dishes. The Man however didn’t like mine at all. It was too spicy for him.

I was very pleased with my dish.  First off there was the tomato sauce. In my opinion a tomato sauce is either good or it’s bad, most often bad. This one was very good, in fact I thought it was perfect with just the right amount of spice. I also liked that the Frutti di Mare did not include baby squid, the main reason I avoid this dish. It had king prawns, mussels and white clams that were all very tasty.

The Man’s Spaghetti Accuighe however was my favorite and I will most definitely be testing it out at home. I suppose you have to like sardines to appreciate this dish. I am not a particular sardines fan so I was very impressed. The basic premise of this dish is sardines canned in olive oil sauteed in more olive oil with garlic, chilies and parsley. Simple and delicious. The only thing I can say is that it was on the salty side so if I order it again I will ask for less sardines. But with a bit of extra olive oil drizzled over it was all good. To top it all off the dish is very well priced at 88 sek.

FOOD ♥♥♥♥

SERVICE ♥♥♥

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥♥-it’s clean and fresh.

BATHROOM ♥

PRICE Food ♥♥♥♥ Drinks ♥♥ White wine is always a problem when eating out in Sweden. It really is misunderstood here. Especially the house wines. Doesn’t help I am a California girl where white wine prevails.

LOCATION
Västergatan 9, Malmö- Sweden
Tel: 040-97 11 04

http://www.epicure.nu/restaurang.html

.

.

.

Metro March 2010

Metro didn’t really hold the measure all the way through. The Man really liked his steak and potatoes while our friend and I were less impressed by our meals. I ordered a white fish with saffron mussels. Our friend ordered the vegetarian Wallenbergare.

The fish itself was nice. However the mussels and the so called saffron sauce were tasteless. Basically it was a shallow soup bowl with a layer of mussels in a watery saffron sauce that was utterly flavorless with two fish fillets balancing on top of the mussels shells. The presentation was very strange as well. The mussels were served as a soup but the fish required a knife and fork. Making it rather difficult to eat. In the end I laid the fish on the slop of the bowl to cut with my knife and fork. My overall opinion is thumbs down. Terrible sauce and even worse presentation. They have since changed the fishI had to a Tuna dish. However, not terribly interested in giving them a second chance.

The vegetarian dish was less than popular. Basically the Wallenbergare (vegetarian hamburger) as I understood was tasteless and the rice was dried out and crunchy along the edges. A few days later our friend said, You know I was thinking about the meal at Metro and the more I think about it the more I didn’t like it.

The Man’s steak was really tasty. I had a bite myself and must say it met my approval.

Overall I would say, if your not having there for the steak you should head somewhere else.

FOOD ♥♥

SERVICE ♥♥♥

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥♥

PRICE ♥♥

http://www.metropamollan.se/meny.asp

LOCATION
Ängelholmsgatan 14 – på Möllan, Malmö

Tel: 040 23 00 63

.

.

.

Saiko, November 2010

With a huge snow storm beating down on us and four newly bought snow tires not yet attached to the car we decided it was time to try out the new sushi restaurant on St. Knuts, Saiko. We had heard things about it. What exactly was it we had heard. Oh right the sushi chef holds the master in Scandinavia and the Saiko menu consists of a Swedish Fusion sushi.  So of course curiosity got us.

So what’s the verdict. First that comes to mind is expensive. The beer equals crazy prices. An average brand of 33 cl at well above 50 sek. Four appetizer size dishes and three beers later we were 675 sek poorer.

The Saiko chef had injured himself so we didn’t get to dig into what we were most curious about more than a little sushi appetizer they were able to scrounge up. It was good, but the rice. Again not sure, have to give it a proper try before I can pass judgement. The sushi menu is rather petite and to be honest it didn’t come across as particularly revolutionary. Not so sure how excited I am about fried herring wrapped in a sushi roll. Which means I probably won’t be rushing back.

We ordered off the warm menu and were both surprised and ho hummed. The presentation was impeccable and there were definitely some interesting elements. I really liked the duck wrap although it could have benefited from a bit of heat, the shredded duck was gorgeous. The ribs, nothing I haven’t had before. I fell totally in love with the fried pork dumplings, The Man not so much. The pork cheek was also interesting, but not sure I am going for it a second time. The service was also top notch. A mistake in the kitchen meant we got to try an extra dish at no cost. A nice surprise. The atmosphere is nice with an interesting seating arrangement, a bit on the cold side though so bring a sweater.

What’s my conclusion. Well I liked it, but thought it was on the expensive side. To really fill up you would have to spend a good 300 sek more and that would definitely push it over the edge.

FOOD ♥♥♥

SERVICE ♥♥♥♥♥ they have the typical American cheer, but it isn’t enough to excuse the menu.

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥♥-chilly bring a sweater.

PRICE Food ♥♥♥ Drinks ♥♥

.

.

.

Sushido, September 2010

On my way to class, looking for a quick dinner before having to stand up and be knowledgable, I decided on sushi. I have heard from a few people that Sushido is really good.

Well, I will have to say it is not. The place is clean and stylish, but the sushi was sub-par. The rice was sickely sweet and overpowering. And I will say it once again RICE is the sushi! Sure you want good fish, but it doesn’t matter how great your fish is if the rice robs your tongue of the fish experience.  The flavor should be subtle, oh so subtle. Plain and simple, if your rice is crap your sushi is crap.

It takes years and years for a sushi chef to reach professional level. It takes great skill and great patience to give sushi rice the love it requires. There is a delicate balance between the rice vinegar, sugar and rice. It can’t be guessed at. Never mind the painstaking cooling process, 30 minutes of careful, uninterrupted fanning followed by a gentle turn to blend the vinegar mixture with the rice without breaking the corn. Now repeat that over and over and over and still love it.

It seems to me being a sushi chef more often than not has all the prestige, but none of the skills to back it up. Not even at a lunch counter level.

FOOD ♥♥

SERVICE ♥♥♥

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥-it’s clean and fresh. Not a place to hang about though.

PRICE Food ♥♥ Drinks no opinion

Location

Föreningsgatan 43

211 52 Malmö

040 – 30 37 37

http://www.sushido.se/

.

.

.

SKÅNE

Mitt i Maten, Mellby Skolan utanför Kivik

Unfortunately a lovely little restaurant is no more. As it’s been a few years since I last visited  the restaurant I remember, I am not entirely sure when it ceased to exist or what it was called, though I suspect it was known as restaurant Någorlunda. Mellby Skola is now home to Mitt i Maten, a big disappointment and a shadow of what was. The cozy little spot in the school basement is now a ho hum restaurant. Apparently the building that once housed Mellby Skolan was bought a year ago by a couple with a musical background tired of life on tour.

I was introduced to the restaurant I remember at Mellby skolan by duh dah Lene Endré and her husband Richard Hobert 10 years ago.  How is it I was hob nobbing with these Swedish movie people? I was working as a photo assistant. It was my job to alternate between pack horse, light supervisor and camera maintenance. What I got for my efforts was a daily meal or two, on this occasion it was a lovely dinner at the Mellby Skolan restaurant that preceded Mitt i Maten.

Mitt i Maten has been redecorated, while it isn’t awful it is in no way an improvement. In fact all of the previous charm has up and disappeared. The service while friendly was decidedly disorganized not too mention sloooow. The food while not awful was very, very average. My lamb chops arrived cold to the table. Due to the fact it took them no less than an hour to deliver our plates, and we had to ask for our drinks while we waited, I did not dare send them back for fear it may take an additional before I got them back. Never mind I had to ask for our cutlery after waiting several minutes. I couldn’t help, but notice a couple in the corner waited no less than 45 minutes for 2 cups of coffee and 2 slices of chocolate cake, completely inexcusable. Having a birds eye view of the waiting staff I still can’t figure out what on earth it was holding them up. They were scurrying back and forth, but nothing seemed to really get done.

The Troubadour in the corner, which otherwise would have been a pleasant distraction, became annoying with his incessant need to ask the restaurant guests if his music was too loud. It didn’t help that he ended this repeated question with the same long winded explanation of his concern at the end of each song. Going as far as walking to each table and asking us if the volume was acceptable. Considering the size of the room this was nothing but anxiety ridden over kill. So, Dear Troubadour ask the once then leave it alone.

The Man felt it was a totally fine experience if not slow. Neither great nor poor. Having known what was on offer previously I was left disappointed if not plain saddened by the whole experience.

If you ask me I am going to say skip it unless you are interested in just an average dinner with really slow service.

FOOD ♥♥

SERVICE ♥♥ Friendly, but disorganized and very, very slow.

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥ Reminds one of an average coffee shop.

PRICE Food ♥♥♥ I am undecided here. the food was average and the price was a bit over average.

.

.

.

Märtas June 2010

To put it bluntly my grilled vegetable sandwich on a loaf of sour dough with a mayo/italian dressing brought tears to my eyes. I knew instantly that these flavors don’t come from a can. Märtas philosophy is to make it all in house, HOME MADE PEOPLE!

I spoke to the proprietor of Märtas to find out what and how and why and I liked what I heard. Of course I forgot to remember his name or did I even ask for it? However, Märtas began when The Owner, having lunch with his computer colleagues, said if this was my place I would do this and that and this and that. You know what I am going to start a cafe here. The computer colleagues laughed and said sure you will. Not long after he did just that.

The Owner gave up the restaurant world many years ago leaving Petra Pumpa, a Skåne legend, and went into computers. Well, now he is back with a venegance.

Märtas is thought through to the last detail. From the marmalade to the cutlery. It is a girls paradise of shabby chic beauty complimented with flavors that come only from someone who has a true understanding of food and the dining expereince. This is not a cafe for the sake of a cafe, but a cafe made with food love.

I took The Man out for lunch to pass on the thank you tradition. He had been a key supporter and doer for the preparations of my 40th birthday. Having learned that I more often than not make the better menu choice than he does, he had what she is having, the grilled vegetable sandwich on sour dough. He was stunned into repeat. This sandwich is freaking awesome. Oh my god, this sandwhich is freaking awesome. This sandwich is freaking awesome. Did you taste the paprica? This sandwich is freaking awesome.

So all in all I give Märtas a resounding 10 on a scale of 5, quite likely the only place that lives up to my stringent American standards. It is well worth the trip to Höllviken to try this place out on a sunny day.

FOOD ♥♥♥♥♥

SERVICE ♥♥♥♥♥ There was a problem with someones order and The Owner did as all owners should he brought them complimentary coffee and dessert. Good job Märtas!

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥♥♥ The detail is all there. Lovely.

PRICE Food ♥♥♥♥♥ The prices are surprisingly easy on the wallet. They would be entirely within their rights to charge more.

http://www.martas.se

Location:

Falsterbovägen 51- found behind the realtors in the inner garden. Next door to Små prinser och sessor.

235 51 Höllviken

Sweden

Tel: 040 45 51 91

.

.

.

Nanami July 2010

Having been craving sushi for the last week I decide it was time for a solitary lunch with some raw fish and pads of rice. We talked about Nanami last night, a small gang of us. What is the problem with Nanami we wondered, why is it so empty? Besides not having a lot of clientele nothing I can see is wrong with the place. Basically I think the biggest problem is location. They are just above Triangeln on one of Malmö’s ugliest more boring streets. The shops surrounding Nanami are motley and rather uninteresting. It’s just not the street you think of when you feel like eating out.

Which is unfortunate. I think they serve a very price worthy sushi lunch. Today I got an 11 piece sushi for 85 sek. That isn’t bad. What’s better is the sushi chef knows how to make the rice, flavorful, but not over powering which is usually the norm in this town. The rice is compact and the rolls stay together. Also a norm in this town. So, I will happily recommend Nanami for lunch. The prices are good, the sushi is better than you will get at either Koi or Haj or almost anywhere else for that matter. It’s a no frills sushi bar that serves up a steady quality of no frills sushi at a no frills price. So do them a favor go for a visit.

FOOD ♥♥♥

SERVICE ♥♥ it is neither here nor their but friendly.

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥-they have the water carried sushi which is novel. there is a name for it I just can’t remember.

PRICE Food ♥♥♥♥ Drinks ♥♥♥

Location

S.Förstadsgatan 65A

214 20 Malmö

040-236 555

http://www.nanami.se

.

.

.

Patisserie David-October 2010

I am wondering how Patisserie David evaded my attention for so many years. I have been to the bakery alongside Triangeln that was interesting enough. But, the cafe at St. Gertrude that is the place I am talking about. I think the reason I have never given the bakery much attention is due to the fact while St. Gertrude has a beautiful inner garden, the restaurant and bar dominating the area always leaves me non-plussed. If wasn’t for the inner garden in the summer I would never bother with the place. Thus, everything else belonging to St. Gertrude I assumed would fall into the same category. I realize now that assumption robbed me of several years of really good food and bakery goods.

Luckily David decided to participate in the Malmö Festival this year and luckily I decided to suffer a short visit just in case I might miss something worth while. That worth while was a very lovely, fresh and tasty crepe filled with air dried ham and cheese sauce found at David’s really well thought out stand. It was lovely. This is what got me to stop by St. Gertrude’s during lunch to see what I could find at their cafe.

I ordered the same crepe for comparison. It was slightly different with a bit of lettuce added to the filling, but still very good. The place was packed, but fairly efficient at the counter. On my second visit I took the man with me. Per usual he wolfed it down while it was still piping hot and missed all the flavor, stating he thought it was better at the festival. I on the other hand decided that once it cools down it is equally as good. In the 40 minutes we were there, the petite fours and pastries went from plenty to go around to take it outside if your going fight about the last crumb. We bought a sour dough loaf that I thought was very nice, but I still prefer the Levain at Vendel’s. What I have to say about David’s is they have a lovely concept that is perfectly priced. It’s a bit chaotic at times as the cafe is small which makes it less relaxing, but I love the decoré. So if you haven’t been do go. You will be pleasantly surprised.

FOOD ♥♥♥♥

SERVICE ♥♥♥ they are fairly efficient considering the lines.

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥-I love the decore, but it’s a bit crowded which takes away from the relax one wants from a cafe.

PRICE Food ♥♥♥♥♥ Drinks no idea I don’t drink coffee.

Location

Östergatan 7b

211 25 Malmö

Tel: 040-630 80 80

www.patisseriedavid.se

.

.

Tempo 

THE FISH WAS DEVINE!  I don’t remember what the fish was called.  I haven’t heard of it before either. I tried to look it up but their online menu is either updated or outdated. I think it was a slätvar/brill. Not sure, doesn’t matter whatever it was I call it lovely!

This was a lovely plate to look at with an array of small surprises. The fish was served on top of a lemon infused root vegetable that I could have lived without, but appreciate the idea.  The glazed brussel sprouts were tender and sweet, well contrasted by a sprinkle of raw brussel sprout leaves that were delicately flavored with a tangy, well balanced vinegarette. All framed by tiny marinaded pumpkin cubes.

Now let’s talk about the butter drizzled on the plate underneith it all. The butter and fish worked amazingly together, better than amazing in this instance. I am not entirely sure what they did to the butter, but it had a richness to it you don’t often experience that was topped off with just the right amount of salt. It could have been browned, but I don’t think so. All I know is that I was grabbing the bones and carefully licking them clean as I proceded to tell each arriving party that they had to get the fish. It was their duty to themselves.

That was The Man’s meal. I however ordered very wrong. I blame it on my eagerness to learn everything I can about pumpkin and my apparent dyslexia. I some how turned Jerusalem artichoke into a plain artichoke in my minds eye. I love artichoke, hate Jerusalem artichoke. See the siappointment on my face when I realized my mistake.

My dish consisted of pumpkin ravioli with Jerusalem artichokes and a red cabbage sauce with a lemon cream. I am not a sweet fan so I was admittedly worried hoping for tangy not sweet and sour. It was sweet and sour.

Here is the deal though take away the Jersalem artichokes and it was still a pretty poor dish. I like the spirit of it, but it just didn’t work. The ravioli’s in themselves were very interersting. They had several layers of flavor that kept surprising you as you chewed. Problem was though the red cabbage sauce was far too overpowering and killed the ravioli’s. And since they were swimming in the sauce you couldn’t get around it unless drying off your ravioli’s with your napkin is acceptable table behavior.

The Jersalem artichokes were undercooked, rubbery and I did get a bite of sand in one bite regardless of what the waiter tried to convince me. Fair enough it happens sometimes. Just don’t try and talk me out of what I experienced I have two outdoor cats and wake up with a mouthful of sand on a daily basis. I know sand when I chew it.

The lemon curd fail. Another thing that bugged me was that there were only three ravioli’s and like a 100 Jerusalem artichokes. Even if I liked them I would find this disappointing.

Really the kitchen would have done better with a lot less, this was sweet on sweet on sweet on Jerusalem artichocke.  The ravioli’s were already sweet and would have been better served with a salty or savory contrast, that lovely butter for instance.

The service was great! Fun, quirky and helpful. In lue of my displeasure with my meal I did get a dessert and my drink on the house. Thank you! I appreciate that my experience matters to you.

So, despite my misadventure with the Jersalem artichokes it was a lovley experience and I want that fish now on a plate in front of me, not my generous boyfriend who loves me enough to share the awesome.


Tempo January 2010

Tempo is one of the most long standing and trendiest bars and restaurants in Malmö, with a Swedish 50’s retro interior. It’s almost always packed out with Möllevången locals.

Food

The food has always been spectacular, based on a hipper version of Swedish husmankost. The last meal my friends and I had there kept us talking for days. And for ONCE the service was really good. A subject I will go into with more detail later.

Reservations are needed if you want to eat.

Bar

The bar has a long list of foreign beers of varying price. Getting a cocktail at Tempo is not going to be your best bet. They won’t do anything off the menu and the prices don’t really match up to the quality one wants from a cocktail. Which leads me to my biggest issue with Tempo, service.

Service

The service is generally crapspectacular. Normally I can deal with less than professional dining service, if the food is really, really good. But despite their prowess in the kitchen, I am reluctant to indulge the rock and roll snarls they try to throw my way. Despite what they might think they just aren’t that cool. There is an air of irritation behind the bar that goes, as far as, rudely and unnecessarily correcting their customers in the most noxious manner.

Specific example:

-I would like to have another of your mini bottles of champagne.

-We don’t have mini bottles of champagne.

-Didn’t we order 3 just awhile ago.

-No

-Point to the fridge behind the bar. What is that then?

-That’s a sect not a champagne. Glare, Snarl

After having being met like this oh… everytime I have been to Tempo I finally lost my American patience. So what happened next is all a blur of rage. I am guessing it can be summed up with me giving the woman a thorough telling off followed by a lecture on customer service and how trying to make an ass out of your customers over semantics does not a tip or a returning customer make. Thus, I only visit Tempo when friends drag me there snarling with complaint. I am far happier spending my beer money at the friendly competition, Creole, Tröls, Metro, Restaurang Möllen, Bella…

FOOD ♥♥♥♥

SERVICE ♥ despite the improvement on the last visit. They have some sucking up to do.

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥-could use a better sound system for the DJing.

PRICE Food ♥♥♥♥ Drinks ♥♥♥

LOCATION

Södra skolgatan 30, Malmö
Telefon: 040-12 60 21

.

.

.

TGIF’s July 2009

Malmö’s Saluhallen was put to the grave and replaced with TGIF’s. Oh the lack of creative foresight and ingenuity this represents. Saluhallen was a great concept. The potential was infinite.  It is sad and disheartening that the new owners of the building didn’t have what it took to rebirth the concept.

Saluhallen housed a strange menagerie of restaurants. You had everything from kebab to one of Malmö’s best fish restaurants, Johan P. What Saluhallen really needed was a refurbishing, someone to recruit a group of restaurant owners with something unique to offer the public with more style and quality. NOT a TGIF’s.

TGIF’s is probably the most overpriced restaurant in Malmö with the most prefabricated menu in existence. How does the inventor of the Long Island Ice Tea decide to leave the original recipe behind for a powder mixed substitute? Why on earth would you shame your invention in this manner? WHY?! I ask you! It doesn’t just look fake it tastes fake and it costs the same as the real thing. Go figure.

In my opinion this alone should tell you everything you need to know about this place.

Note: Saluhallen is an indoor market that generally has a vareity of stalls selling fresh food, produce and the odd eatery. Similar to this, but not always as fashionable. Saluhallen Östermalm

However

Having said this they do have one dish I am willing to spend my money on, the Buffalo Wing’s. They are the closest thing to the real deal you can get here. But, rather than the traditional basket overflowing with more wings than you can eat you get a tiny handful at a rate of approx. 10 sek a wing. But, they taste like they should.

To conclude, in this instance the service does not out way the poor food and drink quality. So my advice is stay away.

FOOD

SERVICE ♥♥♥ they have the typical American cheer, but it isn’t enough to excuse the menu.

ATMOSPHERE ♥♥♥-it’s clean and fresh if not a little noisy.

PRICE Food ♥ Drinks ♥

Location

Lillatorg

Malmö

.
.
.
Vendel Organic Baker November 2009

Mmmmm bread. Bread is my weakness. I love it! I love it toasted with lots and lots of butter on it! My personal favorite is sour dough. Not the really heavy, dark Scandinavian brick sour dough, it’s too healthy. I prefer the San Fransisco sour dough eaten by the gold miners during the California gold rush.

SF sour dough has a slightly tangy flavor and lots of nooks and crannies for the butter too pool then run down your chin as you bite into it. Mmmmm if you haven’t experienced this bread you must make it your pilgrimage.

That or pop by Vendel’s at Föreningsgatan 30, Malmö just across from Anytime. They have a lovely little bakery there filled with all manner of goodies. Skånsk Dinkel, Dansk Råg and my favorite Levain. The loaves are ginormous, measuring close to a meter. Rick Sanchez asks what does that mean in English. Well Rick, in the Empirical system it means close to a yard. You can also buy half a loaf, about the size of your forearm, if you so wish.

Hint#1: On my last visit I arrived just before closing and asked for half a loaf. No need to kill myself with bread. As I was the last customer and the left behind half would be thrown away anyway I got the whole loaf for the price of the half. CUSTOMER SERVICE PEEPS!

Hint #2: The baguette is for real as well. What I was unable to use I let dry out and then cracked into bite size bits and made really delish salad croutons. Actually you can do this with most breads. (recipe coming soon)

Price

Approx. 50 sek for half a loaf.

The prices are more than reasonable considering the bread is made on the premises with organic ingredients and is given a proper yeasting time. Half a loaf or forearm of bread costs about 50 sek. Store bought bread, also half a forearm with less diameter costs around 29 sek.

Info: Mass produced store bought breads are rushed through the process and filled with all manner of flavor enhancers for the pure and simple reason that if they didn’t the bread would taste like paper.

So there! Vendel’s Organic Bakery for the win.

Location

Vendel’s isn’t particularly conveniently located, but it is worth the hassle.

http://www.vendelrestauranger.se/startmalmobutik.asp

Vendel Organic Bakery

Föreningsgatan 30

Malmö

040 97 72 20

Bakery and Cafe

Kåseberga Hamn

0411 52 72 20

.

.

.

STOCKHOLM

.

.

.

Ramen Ki Mama Noodle Bar September 2009

I have only been here the one time and only had the one Ramen soup, but it was devine! The Wantanmen soup came in a bowl roughly the size of my boyfriends head. I greedily pushed it all down and waddled away with a nearly uncontrollable urge to run back and order yet another bowl.

It’s a no frills, as it should be, Ramen Noodle soup kitchen with several pages of choice.

I obviously recommend the Wantanmen noodle soup with shrimp and pork wantons, noodles, and a really tasty spice dip.I say tasty a lot don’t I?!

http://kimamma.se/

FOOD ♥♥♥-but I have only had the one soup.

SERVICE

ATMOSPHERE ♥-it’s a soup kitchen.

PRICE

.

.

.

SOUTH KOREA

.

.

.

SEOUL, GANGNAM

.

.

.

Rainbow January 2010

Rainbow- Gangnam, Seoul

This is a hookah bar in the center of Gangnam’s party, club and restaurant district. It is the quintessential Hookah bar with Oriental Rugs on the floor, low lighting, good music and water pipes. They also do a mean drink bucket for a very, very appealing price.

It’s a nice place to chill out and relax after the bustle of the city. Bands play on occasion and the atmosphere is very laid back. Well except on the Saturday we were there and the American youngsters from the military and the English language schools (my fellow countrymen) arrived and tried to turn it into a let me rub on your leg while I dance between the tables and look like I am having more fun than I am. Can you tell I didn’t approve? I have a reputation to uphold out here in ex-pat land damn it. Nah, but it is a cool place none the less.

LOCATION

Gangnam Station Exit 6. Go to the corner take a left at the Body Shop, go down 2 blocks and take a right.(If you get to Butter Finger’s you have gone to far.)  Along the right side of that road, across the street from my favorite BBQ place, is a door on the right that says Rainbow that looks shady. That’s the place. There is a neon sign there too somewhere. And no it’s not shady at all.

DRINKS

HOOKAH ♥ you even get your own mouth piece protector!

ATMOSPHERE ♥ it’s very cozy and chill.

PRICE

.

.

.