Bastard a review worth revising.

BASTARD!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Februari 2011

Now I am going to update my thoughts about the food at Bastard. AMAZING!  Upon our first visit I was nonplussed by the food, but was in love with the service and atmosphere. The key element to whether or not I will give a restaurant a second chance. If your food is so so and your service so so or less, simple. I won’t be back by my own volition.

So, good job Bastard for getting me back through your doors. I thank you because boy was I ever wrong about the food.

The Man ordered the Ox heart as recommended by his colleague. It was amazing with soft, melt in your mouth meaty strips strewn over slices of beets and a delicately tangy horseradish parfait. YUM!  I ordered the calv tongue with a sardine, olive, mint sprinkle piled carefully on a sinfully tasty mound of mashed potatoes. While the taste buds staring at me initially gave me pause the taste knocked all apprehension out of my mind completely. This tongue now reigns high on my list of best meat experiences. The dish is  delicate in texture and flavor with just the right amount of salty contrast in the sardine olive topping.

My final conclusion is I don’t know which I liked best the heart or the tongue. Both were gorgeous and different enough that I just have to say both are liked best.

I did get a bit of a taste of the cabbage soup that accompanied the chicken stuffed with sweatbread and bacon. It was also note worthy, but didn’t have the wow factor  of our two dishes. The fish well it didn’t get high marks from it’s buyer. Again as mentioned below the fish seems to lack that extra element it needs to come into the running. My suggestion to Bastard is to work on their fish accompaniments.  Top the fish off with something wow.

And what is even better, when looking at the overall price picture it’s competitive. No where else can you get this quality at just under or over 200 sek. The conclusion…I have a new favorite spot!

