Rötter-Malmö’s newest farmer’s market vegetable store.

Prettiest cauliflower I have seen in a minute. Soon to be cauliflower mash instead of potatoes.

Prettiest cauliflower I have seen in a minute. Soon to be cauliflower mash instead of potatoes.

Who doesn't love looking at pretty things?

.

.

.

.

.

.

While I was waiting for The Man to meet me for our almost monthly dinner at Anytime, I wandered across the street to treat us to one of our favorites, a loaf of Lavain from Vendela’s bakery.  Mmmmmm and it completely lived up to my taste bud’s every desire. Tonight we will be using a few slices to make croutons for the French Onion Soup currently bubbling away in our crock pot.

Next to Vendels a little vegetable store called Rötter has moved in. I have been past not that long ago and had a peeping tom look through the window. My eye liked what it saw but thought, hell no will I be able to afford this luxury little store. In fact I was so sure it was going to be out of this world expensive I almost didn’t pop in to have a look the other day. Luckily I believe in looking fear in the face. Besides being utterly gorgeous, fresh and scrumptious to look at, the prices were more than manageable. More than you would pay in the store or at the square, but in reality totally worth the few extra öre.

I had a wee chat with the proprietor. Their concept is to sell fruits, vegetables and a few other odds and ends grown or produced locally. This makes for really fresh, seasonal produce with a short transportation distance providing a boon for the environment. This I like. Their produce is not only cheaper, but far more edible than the labeled organic you find at the grocery stores. So, I warmly recommend stopping by Rötter and having a look around. They are friendly and their vegetables are tops class.

While I take what I can get I still think when you can, supporting local is a good thing to do whenever possible.

Where to find them.

On the corner of Föreningsgatan and Amiralsgatan next door to Vendel’s.

Föreningsgatan 32 or maybe 34, Malmö

