Quail and Pomegranate Sauce.

During a bit of grocery store tourism in Copenhagen we happened upon frozen quail and cornish game hens. Cornish game hens have been a long favorite, the meal I always requested for my birthday. Quail on the other hand are new to me. Which is strange considering I spent a great deal of my childhood in the chaparral surrounding my home town hunting quail with my dad and his buddies. When we weren’t hunting quail I was throwing clay birds for them while they sharpened their shotgun skills. Not only have I never shot a shotgun, for fear of knocking my shoulder off my then slight frame, I have never tasted quail. My mom never seemed particularly interested in dealing with the produce of our hunting and fishing. Fish would make the house smell and quail well I just don’t know.

So our freezer was filled with all manner if fish and bird game never to be eaten. Thus, I felt it time to give quail a try.

Quail with pomegranate sauce, sage stuffing and green beans.

Not knowing at all what to do with them I chose a recipe that reminded me of a Like Water for Chocolate recipe. Quail cut down the back and rubbed with onions, garlic, thyme salt and pepper to be sauted in a frying pan alternating between low and medium heat then sprinkled with bacon and served with a pomegranate sauce. This sounded really easy and really tasty. Unfortunately it didn’t really live up to my expectations. I may very well have over cooked the quail. It is not entirely impossible that California Quail are larger than French Quail thus the times were a bit off. What can I say about the flavor of quail. Well, it’s chicken with a bit more flavor, slightly more wild and slightly more oily.

Can-Can Girls

Plump old ladies one with legs politely crossed and one that needs to wee.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I have to admit that the quail were quite dainty in stature which had me feeling unusually sad about their demise. I guess it would be akin to eating baby chicks. It didn’t help that they closely resembled Can-Can Girls when put into the pan or that they looked like elderly ladies with legs crossed when I flipped them. None the less they were in my hands to be eaten. Sometimes I think it is good that we be reminded of the sacrifices forced upon the animals we eat. It helps us be a little bit more appreciative and that is how it should be.

The Pomegranate Sauce

The pomegranate sauce however was really good. I can highly recommend it for meats and fowl with more of a game flavor. It’s not hard to make either.

Ingredients

1 Pomegranate, seeded

1/4 Onion, chopped

1 Garlic Clove, chopped

3 TBS Olive Oil

2 Bay Leaves

2 Slices bacon, chopped

1/4 Cup White Wine

1 1/4 cup  Pomegranate Juice, unsweetened. I couldn’t get plain pomegranate juice so I used a pomegranate, fig juice worked fine. Found it at ICA above Triangeln in the health food section.

2 Pinches Brown Sugar

Directions

While I used the fat the quail was sautéed in, including the inions and garlic you can just as well do it without the quail. Fry the bacon in the olive oil along with the bay leaves, onions and garlic. When done add the wine and let simmer on low/medium heat until it is almost gone. Then add the pomegranate juice simmer until you get a thick syrup like sauce. You can add the pomegranate seeds but they will only turn grey and look rather ugly. You then dribbe the sauce over your chicken, duck, lamb what have you and garnish with the fresh pomegranate seeds. Whatever seeds you have left over you can have for a healthy snack in front of the tv.

