Junk Food warning-Langos! Festival or Home Made

Langos with sour cream, smoked cheese and refried black beans.

.

.

Being a big fan of the deep fried, Langos have been on my list of must have now as of late. Langos via Hungry began to invade the Swedish Festival’s a couple of years ago.  They are nothing less than fried delicious with sour cream and smoked cheese topping. Only problem is I am way too cheap to fork out seven bucks for a saucer size disc of bread and sour cream. See I suffer from tight fisted out of principle syndrome. If I think something costs more than it should I won’t buy it I don’t care how much money is decorating my wallet. Swedish Langos fall perfectly into this category. Even more of a point of principle after having had the real deal in Hungry this summer, where they are big, wide, fluffy and cost pretty much nothing. So what do you do then when you are a cheap ass. You learn how to make them yourself.

Langos is essentially a potato bread left to rise then fried in a skillet to be served warm with a variety of toppings that often includes smoked cheese. They remind me very much of one of my childhood favorites Dough Gods, another craving as of late. The difference between a Dough God and a Langos is that the Dough Gods are made from plain white bread left to rise once then made into small flat discs and fried in a skillet. Dough Gods are a bit heavier  in consistency.

I am not entirely sure how the Langos came into being, but the Dough God is a farmer’s food. Back in the day before quick yeast was created, the mornings bread was left to rise over night. As the bread needed to rise twice before baking the bread wouldn’t be ready until later in the morning. Thus cook would steal a few balls of dough before it was punched down and left to rise again. The dough was shaped into small discs then fried in a buttered skillet and served to the farm hands before they headed out to the fields. Both the Langos and the Dough God is a very filling addition to any meal as they have a tendency to expand in your stomach. A perfect food for heavy physical labor. Not so perfect for the piggy child.

Every once and awhile my mom and her sister would make dough gods with beans and hotdogs for my cousins and I.  We loved them more than we should thus ate more than we should. There are stories that float through the family legends of how we ate our selves sick, literally sick on more than one occasion. For memory sake and lack of control I ate myself nearly sick the other night on homemade Langos and refried black beans. So consider yourself warned and eat sparingly!

Here is the recipe I used.

Hungarian Langos

It is easier and faster to make Langos than Dough Gods as dough gods require a sour dough starter.

Following directions is a plus!

Langos fresh from the pan.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Note: I tried to guess the cups equivalent of grams. It did not work thus the dough ended up to wet and difficult to stretch. But, I got them in the pan anyway and they turned out fine. So what’s my point. Use a scale to measure the flour.

