Mattias Moleskin #5-Flat Bean and Asparagus with Lemon Saute.

Of course I failed to take a photo last night. Oh well.

The Man with his Korean BBQ. Takes it everywhere with him. Eeeeverywhere.

.

.

The Man had this or I shall say something that tasted like this at Tempo. I wasn’t all that thrilled about it because I don’t particularly like sweet, but he loved this. I didn’t think I would figure it out, but i some how did.

Flat Bean and Asparagus with Lemon Saute. Serves 2 small portions

.

.

Ingredients

3 Flatbeans chopped in 3 pieces

3 Asparagus

1 Garlic clove sliced

Small Squeeze of Lemon

1-2 TBS Olive Oil

1/2 TBS Butter

1 tsp Dijon

2 tsp Sugar

.

.

Directions

Okay it is really simple. First lightly steam or boil your asparagus and flat beans. They should not get mushy! Save the steam water or some of the boiled water for use later. It will be a nice light green color and full of flavor. Melt some butter with the olive oil in a frying pan. In the mean time slice up your garlic, and your asparagus in small pieces. When the butter and olive oil are hot, but not smoking-never smoking. Throw everything in and saute for 2 minutes. Then squeeze a small splash of lemon over the vegetables. Add a tsp of Dijon and mix with the butter and veggies. Add a 2-3 TBS of the left over steam or boiling water and stir in until it is all smooth. Then add sugar until you get the desired sweetness. Keep a small bit of tart so add the sugar slowly.

There you are! Done.

On my second attempt I added some chopped walnuts. I put them in with the vegetables so they would brown in the oliveoil and butter.




