Grilled and Marinated Vegetables. Not rocket science, but very yum.

Somewhere along the line I have become Kung Maaattius’s food taster. When The Man tastes something he likes he demands I taste it so I can figure out what it is comprised of so that I can later repeat it in our kitchen at home. Funnily if it is something I don’t like my tongue goes on strike and refuses to discern. Or such was the case with the french beans he fell in love with. They were covered in a sweet vinaigrette some such that I really didn’t like. I am picky about sweet, generally hate sweet, with a few decided exceptions.

It is with this tongue I learned to cook, tasting my way to the desired flavor. It is also the tongue that at times leaves me frustrated when I can’t seem to get it just right. But, yesterday my taste buds did me well with the Märtas inspired marinated vegetables that we both loved. Though I try to slow The Man down on the the jar of grilled and marinated vegetables it’s the breakfast, lunch and dinner ingredient these days.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

This recipe was easier than I imagined, however since I have only done it the once I can only give rudimentary measurements. So you will have to do as I do and taste your way to a nice result. Good practice for you!

Grilled and marinaded vegetable sandwich with Fuet and hard boiled eggs. Served alongside left over tomato bisque.

.

.

Ingredients

2 Red Paprika’s/Bell Peppers/Capsicum for those latin loving Aussies. De-seeded and cut into 2 inch stripes.

1 Small to Medium Zucchini/Courgette sliced thin

1 Small to Medium Aubergine/Eggplant sliced thin

1 Large Spring Onion sliced and chopped roughly

Approx. 1/2 Cup of cooking oil

Approx. 5 TBS of White Balsamic Vinegar I like this vinegar as it has a mild flavor.

Garlic Salt

Secret Spice or herb salt of some sort.

.

.


Directions

Okay, de-seed and slice up your paprika/bell pepper/capsicum and put it on the BBQ grill or on a ribbed grill plate on the stove. You can also roast them in the oven. The paprika takes a good while to get soft so be patient. Thinly slice your eggplant and your zucchini salt and set to the side. The salt draws out the bitterness. Slice up your onion. When the paprika is done rinse the zucchini and eggplant then grill so they get those beautiful grill marks across them. These go quick.

When everything is grilled put everything into a bowl, including the onions and pour approximately 1/2 cup of cooking oil and 5 TBS of the white balsamic vinegar. You can use some olive oil too. I was out. But be careful the olive oil doesn’t make for a bitter marinade. The marinade should reach about half way up the vegetables.

NOTE! How much oil and and vinegar you use isn’t as important as the ratio between the oil and the vinegar. What you want is a mild marinade. If it tastes oily add more vinegar slowly. If it is too vinegary add a tad more oil. Add a healthy sprinkle of both the garlic salt and the secret spice. If you are using another type of herb salt start slowly as you go.

Stir it all up and let it marinade. You can eat it right away though. Put in a jar and keep in your fridge.

You can have it as a side dish, on sandwiches, salad… let your imagination take you there.

