TV snacking-Homemade French Onion Soup with Homemade Croutons

Cheese I want some cheese. pad to the kitchen steal a couple slices. Back to couch. I want cheese and onions. Hmmmm cheese and onions……. Soggy bread……… I want cheese, onions, soggy bread, soggy cheese soaked bread and……. cheese.

Why is it our body craves what we really shouldn’t eat. Like cheese. Cheese and IBS aren’t exactly friends and yet the body says MUST HAVE cheese. Well, whatever the reason at around 21:07 last nights cravings got the best of me. At 22:07 The Man and I were sitting in front of an episode of Planet Earth trying to our wit each other in pursuit of the last piece of cheese crusted crouton.

History

Thinking ahead is going to make cooking a lot easier. It’s sort of like a little game for me. Beating the system. Here are a couple hints.

First off I had some homemade beef bouillon that was a natural side affect of making winter pot roast.  Basically every time I made a pot roast I put the left over juice in a baggy and tossed it into my freezer. Cost me tops 2 min.

Then I also had a a couple fist full of dried bread that I had saved to make croutons.  Instead of tossing stale bread. I take it out of it’s bag and let it dry out, completely. Then I just crack the bread into bite size pieces. Then just throw them in a jar for later. I don’t bother with making even squares and it doesn’t really matter what bread you use. Use them all. Again cost me maybe 2 min.

So, while one might initially think, French Onion soup with homemade croutons! Forget about it that’s too much work. Not really. The actual time I had to spend in front of the stove was 15 mins. The rest of the time I was parked in front of the boob tube.

Hang on there was one lucky little element! I had a small bottle of cooking wine at home.

French Onion Soup in a small baked in a small casserole dish.

French Onion Soup baked in a small casserole dish.

French Onion Soup-serves 2

Directions

2 large onions halved then chopped in thirds.

2 small garlic cloves chopped

2 TBS butter

1/2 tsp brown sugar

1/4 cup white wine

1 cup beef bouillon

1 bay leaf

1 TBS dried thyme

Gruyere cheese preferably. I used a Swedish cheddar and a handful of parmesan. Worked great, but Gruyere is better.

Soup

Directions

First brown your onions in the butter. You want the edges to start to brown, this can take about 10 or so min. You need to stir them constatnly so they don’t burn. When that is done add the garlic and saute lightly. Next add the brown sugar to caramalize the onions. Then add the bouillon and the white wine. Simmer  on low heat for approx. 40 min. In the mean time prepare your croutons.

When the soup is done simmering put the soup into oven safe bowls or a casserole dish. Then top with the croutons. Then top the croutons with a nice thick layer of cheese. Then put in the broiler, oven on grill, at 350F/180C. When the cheese has begun to bubble it’s ready to be taken out of the oven.

Let it cool!  You won’t burn yourself and you’ll get more out of the flavors.

Okay I spent 20 min. in front of the stove. Still worth it!

Croutons on the fly.

Croutons 3 large handfuls

Ingredients

2 Garlic cloves chopped

1/2 tsp garlic Salt

1 TBS Dried Basil

1/4 Cup olive oil

1/4 Cooking oil

Directions

Pan fried croutons

These measurements are approximate. In a frying pan on medium add the oils, the bread pieces and the basil. Saute turning to make sure all the sides get coated with oil and get crunchy. Towards the end add the garlic. Do this at the end because it burns easily. Then sprinkle with garlic salt and pepper if you like.

I use both cooking oil and olive oil as I find only using olive oil gives a bitter result.

Done. Takes about 5 min. Whatever you have left over put in a jar and use in your salads and soups. YUM!

